my little eye

By clarebeme

Menagerie

Desperate times call for desperate measures - I wandered around the house this eve trying to find something to blip and came across this little group of cute fellas. I must admit I hadn't realised I'd acquired such a little collection...

I ducked out of the second day of training today having confirmed by the end of day one that edit producing is not what I want to do and reminding myself how much the world of TV has changed since I last produced a programme.

When I directed (documentaries) I shot and edited all my own material (with an editor), but now the roles are often split so that the person who shoots doesn't go near the edit - hence this relatively new "edit producer" role.

Given that the edit is the best place to learn how and what to shoot it seems a crazy division of roles to me. Of course it's all driven by money but it's a false economy if edits go pear-shaped and overrun, as I gather they do from talking to the other course delegates.

I am of course the old curmudgeon in the corner that doesn't like how the world is changing but I am also right.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.