gennepher

By gennepher

Unexpected snow...

Some snow I came across today...in my travels...

Weather forecast where I was going said blue skies and sun....it was most definitely not....the skies had the most magnificent, enormous  cargo clouds....one was the shape of an enormous shark....the clouds were splendid today. This was the least amount of snow I came across today in this photo.

The rest of the snow didn't bear thinking about, nor the hairpin bends, just the huge sigh of relief from me when I got there safely...I passed The Cat and the Fiddle...I didn't know it was the second highest pub in England.
I had left the lorries behind where they were going backwards more than forwards and were crazy angles on the road. I managed to get round them aided by their drivers...but the cars behind me didn't...then some more lorries that were not making it...then a recovery truck coming in the opposite direction who was not making it to the vehicles he presumably was to recover. By this time I am the only car on this road. I discovered you do not use brakes at all in this kind of snow...the car goes sideways...finally going forwards again at 5 to 10 mph...there was no room for error as I had a very steep drop on the side of me. The snow was white, the air was white. I had no idea there were so many warning lights on my dashboard on the current snowy, icy road conditions. I had this slight idea I had over reached myself. I encountered no more traffic in either direction. I saw a car than had earlier gone off the road down the ravine. Any side roads were pure white virgin snow and impassible. Finally, after forever I came across a barrier that said my road I had just traversed was now closed. Yet when I entered it at the other end it was a beautiful blue skied sunny day. No sign of even a flake of snow when I began my journey.

Why did you not turn back when you realised it was getting bad you might say...well, the weather just suddenly turned in an instant. You literally blinked and the sky had changed and this huge cargo of snow came down. And everywhere was transformed instantly.

The people I was meeting had a similar problem from their direction. But we met, had a meal and stuff.

Coming back my moorland road was still closed due to snow and accident, so I decided basically to drive North (the road South was closed due to accident and snow). Then drive North West and then West and then drive South back to Wales...and guess what...there was not one snowflake to be seen on the return route I took...I couldn't believe it....

UPDATE on Sunday morning
Hints on driving in snow posted by The Cat and Fiddle

And here is a web cam outside The Cat and Fiddle here showing current road conditions...it is 10:42 am and at this minute the road looks passable to use, no snow on the road.  YOU DO NEED TO VIEW THIS WEBCAM DURING UK DAYLIGHT HOURS, or else it will be black when it is dark!

13:37 pm on Sunday...I have just looked at that webcam again...and the road is now covered in snow, no tyre tracks so it looks as though it is not passable and might be closed to traffic....I don't think that pub, The Cat and Fiddle right next to the webcam will be getting any customers today...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.