Four years ago....today

Today is the four year memorial for when the big Earthquake hit Christchurch.
Feb 22 2011 was the day that I thought for a moment that I might die, the day that I thought I might have lost Ella and David too.
We were all in separate places on that day at 12.51pm....and it took hours for us to be reunited. Those hours were the scariest and worst hours of my life to this day.
We were so lucky, we were all uninjured and we did not lose any close family or friends.
Our home was not too damaged, but that was just good luck, others in our street have gone.

Four years on and I still feel the panic and madness of that day regularly...just living in Chch during the big rebuild is a daily reminder.
It only takes a little thing to bring that day back.. like the rumble of a truck driving past or the bang of a door slamming..noises and movements that sound like the earth moving .

This morning I went down to the river in Avonside and joined in the very moving ceremony of putting flowers in the water in rememberance of that day. Some of the people there were injured in the EQ, alot had lost their homes and were now living elsewhere. Tears flowed and a lone Bagpiper played Amazing Grace.....that is when my tears flowed too, that music in the silence and just the river moving along was just too much.

We are rebuilding lives and buildings here in Christchurch in 2015...slowly it is coming together again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.