Peacock Sighting

Every time I pass this historial home in Jungle Prada, I keep an eye out for the peacocks.  Early this morning driving to church, we spotted a beautiful Peacock on the driveway.  This is not a great photo because it was with my phone camera and I had to zoom in too much to capture it. But I was very happy to get my blip!  There have been times, usually very early in the morning, when we have seen up to five of these beautiful birds crossing the street.  I really never took the time to find out the mystery of why these birds were living here.  A quick search on the internet revealed a beautiful love story of a couple who made their home here in 1954.  They built the home in paradise preserving the land that contained a Indian Mound.  The woman, was a renowned Horticulturalist and opened their gardens to the public. One day a peacock and peahen, Gertrude and Heathcliff, named by the couple, appeared one Sunday morning.  The couple began to feed them and the birds decided to stay and become part of the family.  The birds began to have babies and the couple gave many of them away.Today there are many peacocks and peahens roaming the grounds of this estate.  Every Wednesday afternoon on our way to church for rehearsals, I always tell Moira to look out the window to see if she could see a peacock.  I am sure that she really never did fully understand what I was asking her to find.  But last Wednesday, she did finally spy a peacock and was so excited.  I thought since I was driving I would not try to take a picture.  So I was very pleased to be in the passenger side of the car this time to capture the mysterious peacocks in Jungle Prada!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.