An Old Airman's Life

By 1VintageAirman

Most interesting day

Slept in until 7 a.m.  While brushing my teeth, Buddy decides to come into the bedroom to see what is going on.  Pound, pound, pound  goes his tail on the bathroom door.  Debbie is NOT one who likes to get awoken by me or any  other of God's creatures.  I shove Buddy out into the living room and return to my morning routine.

A nice long morning walk and a hearty breakfast later, I leave for church.  I was informed that the second the door closed, Buddy began baying.  "Come back, Larry!  Come back, Larry!!!!"  Debbie was not  amused.  I am not sure how after less than 48 hours, Buddy could be suffering from separation anxiety, but . . .

Rode my bike to church.  A cold rain was predicted, but had yet to materialize.  Had a great  ride  along the Trinity River.

Sunday school and church were good.  Sermon was a bit weak;-}  Stuck around to be assisting minister at a friend's mother's memorial service.  Took my blip photo in an old chapel we now use to store banners and other stuff that does not lend itself to be stored elsewhere. 

My only tasks were to carry the cross and to say a preprepared prayer.   I had even read through the prayer several times.  The last paragraph started with the words "We thank God for the life of ______________"  No name.  I  knew her name before I started reading the  prayer.  I know her name now.  But I couldn't pull it out  of my old brain then.  Fortunately, I was able to  NOT say the word that came into my mind when I realized I could not say her name. 

After the service, I rode home in pretty steady rain.  I had all my rain gear on so the ride was not too bad.  That is except for my fingers.  My riding gloves got soaked through.  My fingers were burning pretty good.   I am all better now sitting in my chair with a hot cup of coffee.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.