The Gazweasel Times

By gazweasel

All fenced in

I was going to blip the completed fence today but I thought this was much better (and I can blip the fence any time).

I have spent the bulk of the afternoon watching this little baby blackbird take its first tentative steps in the world. It has a sibling as well which has also drawn my attention. Because the poodles are still at the kennels, I am on cat patrol instead.

Actually, the robins are helping me in this. They kick up an almighty noise whenever there's a cat, so I listen for their warning sounds, ready to act accordingly.

The fledgling was in a nice, big, safe holly tree but decided that a much smaller tree, with little in the way of protection, was a much better place to be. For my lens, that maybe true but it means it's an easier target for any neighbourhood mog.

Fortunately this little chap only stayed outside for a short period of time and was eventually shooed back to the holly tree by its attentive father.

Viewed large, you can see it has an afro.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.