A Nice Day

This has been my idea of a perfect day. Nice walk in the Laguna this morning, a brisk, chilly wind keeping us moving quickly and providing us with crystal clear views of Mt. St. Helena, in the distance, the Balletto winery and vineyards punctuated by iconic gnarled oak trees. The birds which usually frequent the marsh were well couried in against the cold wind except for two ravens, who had found a ziplok baggie of dog treats on top of a post and were trying to get into it. They flew off at our approach, carrying their prize along with them.

We visited the farmers' market in Sebastopol, filling our bags with winter greens, spring "micro greens" punctuated with edible flower petals, broccolini and hearty whole grain bread. We passed of two little boys sitting with their father on a step in the sun in front of the coffee place. Their chocolate covered faces suggested that they were enjoying their pain au chocolate. Their dad, nose in his iPhone was oblivious.

We have always brought our own bags to the farmers' market, but now all Sonoma county merchants are required to charge ten cents a bag if they provide one, and I find it hard to remember to take my bags with me into clothing stores or the kitchen shop. A  trip to the car balancing my purchases from the lingerie store in my hands may have cured that lapse. 

'Tonight is Oscar night, which I love to watch. 'm not so sure aboutIOilMan who doesn't share my interest in gowns, bling or, in fact, anything Hollywood. 



* I am publishing a picture of my short haircut only because Ia few of you asked. I had to get OilMan to take my picture because selfies were out of the question….

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.