We build 'em big

There are more cranes involved in building now than demolishing.

Another thing I notice on the odd occasion I stray into the CBD is the size of the framing required for new multi story buildings.

Massive steel structures unlike anything I've seen before. Three huge piles are underway here. I wonder how deep the foundations are? At another site big drilling rigs were working along side buildings undergoing restoration. Drilling assesses where the water table is, depth of ancient river gravels and samples give add to the geotechnical data.

I took this photo and continued on bike down Tuam St. What a nightmare. Give me a skinny, rocky ridge in the mountains any day over commuting in an earthquake busted city. I feel a lot safer up there.

And home to a liberal coating of fine top soil that used to live over my back fence and now lives on most things at my place. Fortunately I didn't leave windows open on that side.

Lets see what happens tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.