Trisharooni

By trisharooni

MonoMonday - Ancient Buildings

I shall repeat what I suspect every Australian blipper has said.
We don't have ancient buildings.

I think the oldest would be Elizabeth Farm at Parramatta, which was built , I think, in 1793, five years after the first European settlers arrived.

This is my house, not at all ancient, but old by Blackheath standards.
It was built in the 1880s by an Anglican minister.
The story goes that his wife lasted just one winter then retreated to Strathfield, a suburb of Sydney.
It's interesting, I think, that Strathfield was then full of grand houses and wealthy merchants, and that there was a time when it was not the desire of every Sydneysider to see the harbour.

Thanks, JoanneinOz for hosting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.