Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Falkirk High Street 1886

Went into Falkirk town centre on Friday afternoon. It was a bright, crisp day, albeit with a biting cold wind. The plan was to take a bus back to the Falkirk Wheel and then walk home along the Canal. This plan was perfectly executed until, a few hundred metres past Bonnybridge Toll, where I could have abandoned my walk and sought refuge or at least caught the bus home, the greying skies turned to sleet - sleet that increased in intensity resulting in me being utterly soaked through by the time I got back into the house. My waterproof jacket kept the upper part of  me dry, but my trousers and shoes and much else in that vicinity were sodden. As, so much for the blue skies...

Falkirk town centre still has a lot of older buildings, if one looks upwards and away from the modern shop-fronts, and this one on the High Street has caught my attention a few times. Not sure what it was in its day, but it bears the date 1886 and is crowned by a horse holding a shield. Or maybe a unicorn that's long lost its horn?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.