MonoMonday:Ancient Building

After all my adventures looking for an old building I have settled for the top part of the facade of this old beauty.

Built in 1915 at the 'top' end of William Street in what is now known as Northbridge this group of shops had dwellings above each little shop. It was close to the city and would have been quite a busy place I think. The fancy brickwork and those decorative balls are a credit to the builders as they've never fallen off in almost 100 years. :o)

Years ago I ran an art gallery with a group of artists from one of these shops and I had a studio in one of the small upstairs rooms. they were small and pokey and I can't imagine what it must have been like living there full time!

Thanks to JoanneInOz for hosting and choosing such interesting and thoughtful challenges! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.