analogconvert13

By analogconvert13

Carving. Leitz Elmarit 90mm.

The carving in the Blip is on the end of a beautiful antique church pew which came from Switzerland.  The story goes like this:
Many years ago when I first came to Boston, my uncle, Crispin25's dad, gave me the name of an old friend of his from South Africa. She had lived here for years having settled down as a lecturer in Public Health after an unbelievable career working for the WHO.  She had lived in 26 different countries in the course of her work.  In each place she acquired pieces of furniture and momentoes of her time there.  When she moved to Boston they were all shipped here.  H and I become regulars:  she would cook a simple  kitchen supper which we washed down with Bourbon.  After dinner, swathed in a great blue cloud of her cigarette smoke, we would play Scrabble for hours.  On one such visit, I commented on the beauty of the pew which stood in a corner of her living room.  She told me its history.  Some years later, H became very ill and eventually passed away in 1990.  Months went by and one day a copy of her will showed up at my door forwarded by her executor.  In it, she had bequeathed the lovely pew to me...  I eat meals sitting on it at our dining table. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.