Plus ça change...

By SooB

Royal crush

Early start for all. I have to admit that once the kids were pushed* out into the rain to school, I headed back to bed to read my book for half an hour. The two and a half hour sleep that followed was unintentional, but very welcome. I think a few of us may have brought Andorran colds home (though I feel bad that I could snooze while my fellow sufferer had to teach).

* They love school and are even happy to skip out into the pouring rain. Just as well since I was still in my dressing gown.

Later some normal household stuff, finding CarbBoy's iPod (feared lost at the side of a French motorway, but actually in his bag which he told me he had thoroughly searched), puzzling over questions from our school accountant, dinner and Wolf Hall.

CarbBoy has a history test tomorrow. Or possibly a geography test. A frantic round of texting from other parents in the class this evening did nothing to dispel anyone's uncertainty. However, he knows contours better than Charlemagne, so we used the time left after basketball training to learn about history.

This fruity line up were helping me demonstrate Charlemagne's relationship with the counts and the missi dominici (sp?) If you're interested, Charlemagne is the apple, the counts are plums and the avocado is the messenger. I think CarbBoy learns in a visual way, so I'm hoping this and a couple of 'lists of three' (we're very fond of those) will help some key facts stick. Funny how he has no issue with dates or places, just all the other bits.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.