Poor Deer

Well you get through a lot less film when the weather is so utterly miserable. If you took anything out of a pocket for a second it was soaked. The air temperature was probably above zero but the wet snow driving in the wind made it feel bitterly cold.

There is no pretence here (in this image) about nice light, exposure, composition and so on it was just a case of getting a picture of any sort. I had serious concerns about the well being of this elderly red deer hind. I stepped over the fence camera emerging from pocket and polythene bag and took a few paces towards her and she just stood watching me. I think she was also cold and leg weary. Later I saw her walk round the corner, very lethargically and when we packed up she was lying in some partial shelter from an overhanging tree. This isn’t a tame deer she is a proper wild animal looking dejected and weak.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.