Good Deed

Today, as befits a group of retirees from the World Bank, we went to visit a local elementary school (Escuela Barrio La Cruz) where we provided school uniforms and shoes for the kids, and discussed the challenges the school faces and what needs it has.
 
We arrived for a school assembly, with the kids, teachers and some of their parents. Lots of speeches (the most boring of which from the school's principal) and lots of restless kids, before the uniforms were finally distributed. I had fun taking pix of the kids, who could really ham it up.
 
The staff was wonderful as well and the school's cafeteria (lunches for all kids paid for by the government) provided us with a delicious local lunch (rice, beans, avocados, pork, salsa). I went to chat with the kitchen staff, two lovely older ladies, who were tickled pink that I would do so and especially when I took their picture too. My Spanish is getting a bit of a workout, but hand gestures helping, I manage to make myself understood.
 

We are now at the Pacific ocean, with a breathtaking view from our balcony, falling asleep to the sound of lapping waves. But first, out for dinner and a walk about the town. Another two days and we'll leave this group tour and branch off on our own for another four days. Yeah! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.