PixelChristi

By PixelChristi

Snowdrop

Early on in my blip life, I started a small series called "Common or Garden": http://www.blipfolio.com/PixelChristi/still-life-series

On the face of it, it was about weeds and common plants that we ignore, but were capable of beauty in their own way. The reality though, was that I was trying to get my head round photographic composition after so many years working in another discipline.

It was about simplicity, the frame, the subject, and where they can and do intersect, and finding out what worked. It was about examining the compositional "rules", reassuring myself that they were nonsense, and driving forwards from there.

To my eye, two and a half years on, the colours seem a little too dayglo, but the exercise still seems valuable. Being aware of the frame, and what you put in it, where you let the two meet, and - crucially - what you leave out, is a vital skill in photography. One that everyone can learn.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.