THEY LEFT THE BENCH

The truth is a construction.
That was the sentence with which I awoke this morning.
My dreams have a lighter touch for the last days. I almost awoke with a smile.
The sun was shining, the sky looked promising. And still my good feelings did not stayed with me during the day.
I worked in the garden, wanted to do too much. Clear the sites where the bulbs had their flowers in bright colours above the ground of the brown leaves and the annoying grasses, to give them space.
The brambles that although I forbade them, keep coming and much more.
When Piet Hein and I after lunch set for our walk, I felt dishearted.
A little dip?
Well, the sky was overcast and had not our neighbour told me in the morning that in the afternoon it would rain (as the forecast had told him)
We set out and as often is the case, the walking brightened me up.
We walked along the Diemel, it is a path that gives a view over the fields and at the other side the forest of the Rheinhardswald starts on the steep hill.
At some point we met a young man and woman, who had just left their bench. Just right for us to sit there we thought. And resting I saw the couple walking on the path already in the distance.
We walked to Helmarshausen and were glad to catch a bus that brought us back in five minutes in our town.
After tea I slept and awoke with heavy thoughts. I feel like the changing weather, just when one is used to one kind, it changes so soon that it is hard to adjust to the different kind of atmosphere.

My haiku:

They are terribly young
We were too once and did not know
Either what could be

And the proverb:

Fair (Fine) words butter no parsnips.

1638 Clarke and 1847-8 in Thackeray, Vanity Fair:
Who....said that 'fine words butter no parsnips?' Half the parsnips of society are served and rendered palatable with no other sauce.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.