Childhood Memory

We packed quite a lot in to today, including a visit to Old Oswestry Hill Fort and Valle Crucis Abbey.
The Iron Age Hill fort is the best example I've ever seen with the most incredible ramparts still clearly visible. The views were fantastic and the dogs had a good run around.
The Abbey was actually closed until 1st April but the gate was open, so I took the opportunity to grab some photos.
We then drove by Gwydir Castle at Llanwrst and disappointedly, this was also closed until April. I was telling Mr E that my parents used to take me to somewhere like this when I was a child and that it used to be famous for its peacocks, when one jumped over the wall and came to my car door. It was a wonderful moment when I realised that it was the same place. The peacock wasn't quite so impressed when he realised that we only had a few crumbs left from our lunch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.