Arcadian Dreams

Uludag (illustrated) is a mountain range south of Istanbul near the city of Bursa. It takes about 4 hours to get there from Istanbul.

This watercolour may not illustrate a Utopian Arcadia but it's a lot closer to one than the Isis controlled Syria in my opinion.

I've been hearing a lot about those 'high achieving' (rather than feral wild?) school girls this week who have now vanished into Isis controlled Syria. They'd have been a lot better off taking a holiday at Uludag and flying home in my opinion.

They must have been hearing siren voices whispering beautiful romantic stories, enticing music and dreams. Their utopian image of the Caliphate & Isis in Syria opposes my perception of it as a mediaeval death cult. An incredible polarity. I am almost totally unaware of the utopian vision but there must be one - it must involve the decadence of the filthy western unbelievers and the revival of a perfect life in the Caliphate.

I hope they aren't disappointed. But I fear they will get a profound shock when they realise the rights and protections that they have taken for granted in the UK, like the air they breath, no longer exist.

I saw a CH 4 report where the reporter tried ascribe blame on the Turks - there was no one stopping and questioning them when they left the airport he said. I can't see why there should be people questioning exiting passengers. Also he bought a bus ticket to Gaziantep saying that no one asked for a passport! Would you expect to show a passport on a bus from London to Birmingham?

Will we hear what becomes of these girls I wonder? How many thousands more young people across the world are hearing these siren songs?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.