If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

St. Mary's Marina Rufford

Down in Lancashire again this time for a regional Health and Safety meeting.  I didn't have time to treat myself to a visit to the reserve so I treated myself to a different walk.

Anyone who has followed my journal for long will know I enjoy the canals immensely so I stopped in Ruffrod for a walk along the tow path.  The reflections in the marina across the canal caught my eye so I have settled for this shot.  I very nearly used a shot of Lock 7 just a little further on.

The canal is the Rufford Branch of the Leeds Liverpool canal .  It is only about 6 or 7 miles long and has 8 locks before it opens into the River Douglas.  The bridge at the junction of the main Leeds Liverpool canal is dated 1816 so the canal has stood the test of time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.