Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Love in the treetop

People have asked me how I choose my one picture each day to post on Blip.  And my answer is "it depends".  Sometimes it is a photo that I know is technically good, one that I am proud of.  Most days it is a photo that will remind me of some way of the day or of a specific moment, or that evokes an emotion in me.  This photo falls into the last category.

For me, this photo kind of sums up why I love nature photography.  I was watching a great blue heron foraging for sticks and twigs, obviously looking for just the "right" ones.  Once he'd gathered up a few small twigs, he flew up to the nest where his mate is probably already on eggs.  She stood up to greet him, feathers flared and neck extended - he greeted her in the same way.  And then... then, he seemed to nuzzle her which is what I caught here - he draped his head over hers and stayed that way for several moments.  It was, for me, a "wow" moment.  

I had some good runners-up today too.  I visited the Suncoast Seabird Sanctuary mainly to check out the rather large colony of wading birds that are nesting around their grounds.  There must be 30 nests active right now - great blue herons, great egrets, brrown pelicans, and many black crowned night herons.  And although these are all "free" birds, they apparently know that the Sanctuary grounds provide a safe place for nesting.  Seems like every tree limb has a night heron perched on it - some are fledglings just out of the nest, some are still clinging to the safety of their nests, still others are on their own.  Pretty amazing sight.  

If you'd like to see my 8 other favorite shots from today, please clicke HERE.  Second to last photo in the series is a baby pelican who is probably about two months old - unlike the rest of the birds I photographed, this little guy is in captivity, only because his mom decided to build a nest and lay eggs while she was there for rehabilitation.  Soon enough mother and baby will be returned to the wild.  I blipped the little guy on January 2 of this year, right after we lost Rocket.  

Thanks for the lovely comments on Big Red yesterday!  I have certainly enjoyed seeing and photographing him, and I am glad you enjoy him too.  I had a good laugh when I saw what Tim (OutdoorGuy) blipped yesterday - yours truly in a rather undignified position!  Sneaky guy - I never even knew he took that!  

Happy Hump Day, people.

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.