Yay!!!!

Such a lovely day today, it was warm, and the sun was shining...and for the first time this year I had the absolute pleasure of feeling the sun on my back!
As I left work I noticed this Common Green shieldbug palomena prasina freshly emerged from hibernation and still sporting his subdued winter colours, sitting on an ivy leaf. Strangely in much the same place as the one I photographed last year (But Labelled wrongly) on Feb 24th!!
According to British bugs the Common Green shieldbug is a large shieldbug which has one generation a year. The adults are  bright green in spring and summer, becoming darker bronze-brown prior to winter hibernation.
They are widespread throughout Britain, and can be found in many habitats, including schools it seems!!
Winter is back tomorrow :-( but before it arrives I have just enough time to run my moth trap...Yay!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.