Observe And Be Curious

My sister and I spent the day at the family home standing in a cold outbuilding sorting through our mother's writings, poetry and correspondence. We packed up the remainder of the books which are going to a charity sale at the weekend.

I brought The Observer's Book Of Birds' Eggs home with me. I mentioned on here the other day that, when I was a child, birds' nesting was a common pursuit. My sisters and I never took the eggs but used to love searching for the nests. We found a letter that my second sister had written to our mother when she was away detailing all the nests we had discovered in the area.

I also brought my granny's hand lens home. I remember using it to look at flowers and bugs when I was very young. It is beautifully ergonomic, my adult fingertips sit so comfortably in its oval holes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.