horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

I said what?

As I arrived at the front of the queue for a handshake and photo op with Jens Voigt, he pointed at my bare lower legs and said they must be cold. I told him he was soft. Jens Voigt. I told Jens Voigt he was soft... Jens. Voigt.

There is certainly something of a cult of celebrity about Jens, and while he was definitely in the high echelons of cycling, he was something of the archetypal super-domestique, riding for others. But there are plenty of those about. What seemed to set Jens apart was an openness, what appears a genuine honesty, and a real knack for coming out with wonderful sound bites, made even more memorable when delivered with his German accent. He just comes across as one of the sport's nice guys, and tonight did nothing to dispel that notion.

Queueing afterwards for that photo op and autographs, I had a nice chat with a friend, Phil, then later with a chap I've only ever met online called Mark, who photographs all sorts of cycling events (and looking forward to seeing the shots he got of me and Jens, this one was just off my phone), and runs a great Scottish cycling news website, which I've written a few things for, and that was very interesting and potential-laden. Fingers firmly crossed on that one.

The ride to and from was incident-free too, 23 minutes to get there, was only 14 minutes home. Have to love a wind-assist home. Either that or it was the Jens affect.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.