my little eye

By clarebeme

Pencils poised

I started a six week drawing class today in a bid to do something challenging (very as I haven't drawn since school and am no artist) and something for myself. It's a fascinating course: art and medicine which will take us into various hospital medical/pathology museums in London to draw items from their collections. Most aren't open to the public so it's a real privilege. Sadly photography is not allowed in any of them but the experience will be amazing.

One of the best things about today, apart from learning to hold my pencil at the wrong end for greater control and flexibility (it really works), was coming home to share my meagre efforts with the family and thereby inspiring Alice to put pencil to paper. Hurrah.

It puts me in mind of this small but powerful film about how much we influence our kids, though as the positive flipside.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.