The fool on the hill

By mooncoin

Bottle neck

I had the chance to closely inspect part of our crumbling and straining road network as I sat on the M6. As there was nothing on the radio (Noel Gallagher and his inanely named band had just come on  - I wouldn't be surprised if Graham Gouldman ever sued his plagiaristic arse) I decided to work out the area taken up by the nation's motorway central reservations. There are a tad over 2000 miles of motorway on this crowded little island. Let's say central reservation is 10 feet wide. That's 1/500 mile x 2000 equals 4 square miles of plastic bottle strewn wasteland. It's probably less than that but I needed to keep the numbers easy for my dulled brain. As for the plastic bottles, I'd guess there was one for every 20 square feet. So that would be 5000 squared times 4 divided by 20. Gets you about five million bottles that no one actually notices. Probably a lot fewer than that - unless you count the ones on the hard shoulder. Then it's probably 50 million.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.