Dolly's Day

By dollydoug

ANOTHER WEATHERSPOONS??

This grand old building used to be the Council Offices in the village - the Urban District Council Chambers built in 1904. In 1974 the local council was swallowed up by Gateshead Metropolitan Borough Council. For a few years afterwards this building was still used - council tenants could pay their rent there etc but it remained largely empty. It closed completely a few years ago.

At the beginning of this year Weatherspoons put in an application to convert the building into a pub. Due to objections by locals the application was withdrawn. However a couple of weeks ago Weatherspoons applied again and it will come up before the planning committee in due course.

I can understand the objections as the village is well catered for already with numerous pubs, a few restaurants, takeaways and even a hotel. However no-one else seems interested in giving the building a new lease of life and its a shame its just standing empty and un-used.

Took this shot on my way to get my hair done this afternoon. The hairdressers is in the building on the right of the shot - the 3 windows with awnings.

Have been in touch with the cat owner ( re yesterday's blip ) and told her I would go and see the cats on Saturday. Means taking 2 buses there and 2 back but I'm keen to see them before I go on holiday and if I like them I hope she will hold on to them till I get back. Fingers crossed it all goes well.

***** Neil update - he is in Queenstown, New Zealand and he did the The Nevis Bungy jump yesterday - 134 metres above the Nevis River. Well done Neil. He's frightened of heights so it was a big thing for him to do. Bet he was scared witless standing on the platform trying to muster up the courage to jump. Hopefully someone was taking photos and I will get to see them via Facebook.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.