Lion Chambers

I've been meaning to take a shot of this for 'Derelict Thursday' for a while.  Unusual to have this kind of dereliction right in the heart of the city (Glasgow).



The Lion Chambers was built in 1907.  It was commissioned by William G. Black, lawyer and member of the Glasgow Arts Club, with the lower floors intended as lawyers' offices and the upper floor as artists' studios. A tall narrow building of 8 stories and a bit like a castle in appearance.
It started to deteriorate in the early 1990s and gradually went downhill as various businesses moved out.   It has been empty for some years now.



It is an A Listed Building which gives it some protection but often what happens is that it will lie unused and unattended for a number of years until they come along and declare it unsafe (I think it has already been declared dangerous) at which point they will pull it down.  Hope I'm wrong about that. 



I chose this section as I'm fascinated by the sight of Judge Lord Scott Dickson in his cage.  I bet he never thought he would  end up behind bars!
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.