Sea Salt

There is a large store near us called Penzey's that carries a multitude of herbs, spices and mixtures such as Chicago Steak Rub, Mexican Hot Chocolate and Chinese Five spice. I could spend a lot of time there. It is spacious, never busy, smells delightful and fires the imagination for cooking. I could also spend a lot of money there. Today I bought vanilla, sesame seeds, various kinds of dried chilies, and kalonji, a spice used in Middle Eastern and Indian dishes.

I parked as far from the spice store as I could in order to increase my step count for the day, came back with a heavy bag filled with spices and three pairs of shoes (what are you supposed to do when you can't make up your mind?) and couldn't find my car. I walked up and down, lugging my heavy bag and looking pathetic, but it wasn't where I left it  thought I left it. There were no parking limits, so it wasn't towed, and who would steal a ten year old car?

Finally, knowing that however things turned out I wouldn't look good,  I broke down and called OilMan who grudgingly agreed to come help me. Just as I hung up, I spotted my car one section over from where I was sure I had parked it, in front of the bank, not the coffee place. OilMan's comment when I called him back had something to do with getting old. I told him I had been losing my car in parking lots for as long as I have been driving. We left it there….

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.