The More I Change...

By Phitzy

Eugene Wants You To Vote!!!

Early voting has started in 34 out of 50 states; in 31 of them, it's open to whom ever desires to cast a ballot early, 3 require "an excuse" (I anticipate that I will have appendicitis...will that work). Florida is one of the 31 free and open states.

In order to make it to the line in which one must wait to vote, one must run the gauntlet of candidate supporters, like Eugene. and about 75 folks like him, holding signs, passing out bottled water (really), and imparting last minute information to you.

So, I made it through, then I waited...

*1/2 hour in the sun...(man it was hot out there) and a conversation overheard 2 people in front of me: A man who came out to vote because it was his 90th birthday, he figures that it may be his last opportunity to vote in a presidential election. He owed his longevity to a beer at lunch and a double martini in the evening, but he misses his wife's cooking.

*1/2 hour in the foyer of the public library...(so close and yet so far) "I left my dogs at home and when I get home the neighbour asks me if I have a menagerie in there...I mean they make so much noise" (bring your neighbour with you and he or she won't hear the dogs and they can vote, too).

*1/2 hour sitting on injection moulded plastic chairs watching the red number sign flip up, up, up...

"Number 45!"

All so worth it.

Get out and vote. Bring along a few friends and make a poll-sitting party, you'll be glad you did so.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.