Van

If you ever find yourself wandering the backstreets of Tokyo, you are guaranteed to find something that will amaze you; something that will just make you stop and stare.

Today we found an abandoned house. It was two stories, made of wood, and had one of those not-so-aesthetically-pleasing breeze-block walls that are all too common in Tokyo.

There was a huge piece of corrugated metal covering the main gate, but the wall had caved in so I wandered up to catch this wonderful view of nature doing a bit of reclaiming. The van was full of rubbish, the yard was full of rubbish, there were mosquitoes everywhere.

I looked up to the second floor and there was a little ledge under a clothes pole. Some clothes had fallen a long time ago but hadn't been picked up. They were green with moss and looked stiff from repeated soakings and dryings. The window was slightly open, but that's nothing new. You see it quite a bit, but I don't know why. Maybe the locks rot or the earthquakes shake them open. Maybe whoever lived there died with the windows open. Who knows, but basically it was scary old building that makes you wonder just why it's been left like that. I wandered round to the side door to see if there was more to shoot and...

...there was a new little plant in a plant pot outside the door, and it was all kind of neat and tidy--someone still lives there!

If you want to see a colour shot (yes, I said colour) of this and some other photos such as a bright pink boxing gym (I told you there is always something to see) from my wanders, you can follow me on Instagram: wayoflife13. Let me know you're from blipfoto :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.