Coke, not the drinkable kind.

"Do you like coke?" My Thai friend asked.

"Yes..." I said hesitantly, not wanting a coke to end up in my hand because I had just eaten dinner.

"Ok, let's get some." She said, stopping in front of this cart.

("Ummm???") I've learned to keep my confusion to myself because usually given a few more moments I understand better. This time around, my strategy worked.

"Have you had cokes before?" She asked, pointing to the rounds of coconut milk pudding sprinkled with corn or chives.

Cokes are cooked in a special pan of round cups. It looks like it could be used for deviled eggs. The slightly sweet, very thin, coconut batter is poured over all the cups while the pan is over the fire. Then a few kernels of corn or chives are sprinkled on top of each coke. The batter cooks until it is golden and crispy on the bottom and pudding-like in the middle. They can be eaten hot or cold, but are most delicious right off the pan (and cooled enough to not burn your tongue.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.