Alberta

By Alberta

Maria yet again!

Well it could have been a photo of Sona's father scaling the fish that they were to have for tea .. and doing this on one of the big stones outside their hut. Sona and her mother and father are moving house and Maria is staying here. I saw some of the reason for that this evening I think...  I realised her father was quite drunk .. acoloholism is such a problem here in Kerala - when the men get back from their fishing work they just drink and not to savour the drink just for the hit and often it is this very potent local mix made from coconut juice - toddy) So I saw the animosity between him and Maria and could see that it would be quite a relief for her to have him out of her house when he is like this. The women here seem so used to this - I guess they have to be.  They stand firm and despite all of this I caught Maria laughing . something I don't often see her do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.