Always the Sea

By SoLisa

They took it away...

and were married next day...

Today is the 31st anniversary of our first date and the 25th anniversary of our marriage - our silver wedding.

The day before the wedding we realised we'd forgotten to get the ring. We trawled the jewellery shops in Oxford Street looking for a size I ring and eventually found one in Ratners for £9.99 - slightly more than a prawn sandwich but still a piece of crap.

The ring did me just fine till I lost it ten years ago. We'd talked about replacing it but never got round to doing so; our 25th wedding anniversary seemed to be a suitably symbolic time to do this. I wanted another crap ring but Ratners is no more and none of the remaining crap places had a size I in stock so I had to settle for this, which actually has some real gold in it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.