Kipper Cabin

By KipperCabin

I'm in over my head

I am.

I've always thought a wee skiff floating on the pond would be dead cute.

So I've bought a kit.  A wooden one.  Most of it's to be glued together, although there are 40 of the cutest little nails included in the packet of fittings.  And the sweetest little oarlocks you've ever seen! OMG!

It's 2" to 1' scale, so although it'll only end up 18" long I shall tell everyone I'm building a nine foot boat.

The side of the box advised that I read the construction manual thoroughly prior to starting the assembly.  Truly gripping stuff is that manual!  I was a bit cross eyed by page 36, so I got started.  I've managed to form the bottom plank out of two halves and glue the cleats across.  I'd have set upon the transom, except I'm that high on glue I've had to stop.

I've got all the way to page six.

I'm wondering if this might be more of an outdoor pursuit.

I expect it'll end in tears.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.