Dancersend

By Dancersend

This winter, trendiest seed-heads are wearing...

I'm still interested in looking more closely at the dead stems and seed-heads around the garden. My wife calls them 'depressing brown sticks', but I hope to show that they have their place in the life and aesthetic of the garden. I think these are the seed pods of a Silene species and they certainly do look lifeless and messy from our normal height. However, get down to their level and they look more exotic. For me, these two immediately conjured up Ursula Andress with a lovely grey fur coat wrapped around her and a caramel-coloured pixie hat with fur trimmings. Don't ask me why! Must be an age thing! Anyway, I do think they look rather stylish and splendid close up...and they still have valuable seed to spill.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.