weewilkie

By weewilkie

a wee walk awhile with you

I was out a walk this morning following the river upstream when a cyclist passed me and stopped. It was my friend on his way to work, and I hadn't seen or spoken to him in months. So I walked alongside him for a stretch of his journey and we caught up a little.

I love this guy. We have known each other since school and he is a complete free spirit. He'll never contact you, but he is company so many want to keep because he is an artist, a talent, a livewire, his brain fizzing in from left-field. He is also very very funny. Amazing company, but he's not yours to keep. You get a loan of him for a while and then must let him go where he must go until the next long while when he appears.

One of the things we talked about was about trying to be yourself. He does this effortlessly, I struggle. For me the distance of my unhappiness is the distance between who I feel is me inside and who I portray myself to be to the world around me. If this distance is great then my dissatisfaction is great, the closer these two things get the closer I get to harmony in my life.

So we discussed this and more. The writing on his hand is to remind him that today is rent day. The finger points onwards, for the rent has to be paid. The fingers on the hand that can lead a line of ink to create magic. And soon off he went to his work until the next unknowable time I'm in his company and he spins gold out of straw from the very air around us and perplexes and delights us all.

Onwards !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.