The Cantilever, near summit of Glyder Fach

A tough tough day for me. Started grey but good conditions from Yr Hafod near Bethesda. Navigation practice to Llyn Idwal (lake) along eastern side and up to Devils Kitchen. Good scrambling up there. We then continued up Glyder Fawr which is where we were literally hit by the wind at 900m, also the snow line. (I was physically blown over, and being the smallest in the group I found it really hard). Paul our instructor dug steps in the snow for the group as none of us had crampons or ice axes. I think other instructors might have chosen the exit plan of turning back at that point but Paul decided we were up for the challenge of carrying on via Glyder Fach and Cantilever and then down past Tryfan to Llyn Ogwen and along road. Once I'd been blown over twice Paul decided we needed to hold on to each others rucksacks to stop me being blown again; a strategy that partially worked but as it was very rocky terrain with ice and snow it wasn't easy.
So all in all an experience!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.