Nanchang 2012

By Nanchang2012

THE MUSIC WILL LIVE ON...

With the recent deaths of Donna Summer and Robin Gibb(R.I.P.), two very famous singer/song writers, i caught myself humming an old BeeGees tune...How to Mend A Broken Heart...and i got to wondering about how music has followed me in my life...anything from classical to pop to hiphop to rock...the list is endless, i enjoy most kinds of music.
I thought about China and its history of music... Beijing Opera...the Revolutionary Songs...the rattatat and clash of wood blocks and brass cymbals...then i remembered this shop and happy it was still there...stepping in and looking at all the odd array of instruments...still made the same way for eons...the mandolin like PI_FA, the screechy lap violin ER-HU...still made with snake skin, the yellow GOURD like clarinet...all ancient...still taught...still learned...and still heard at any give time throughout the city...(photo by Iain Dewar)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.