Final checks

I used the alarm this morning to ensure that I was up in time to catch the sunrise along Erceg's Way. Needed it too, after a slightly broken night. The sky (from the back of the beach house) was red when I emerged, only to fade quickly, as there were few clouds.

As I started along Erceg's Way, I saw a man carrying a paddle board out into the water. Snapped off a quick photo (later junked very quickly, as he chose that moment to dump the board in the water). I then patiently watched as he went through the process of getting himself ready to stand on the board and paddle out into Kawau Bay. I lost sight of him before knowing if he was heading for Kawau Island, or around the coast toward Scotts landing.

This was S' favourite photo from a series taken on a beautiful morning along the foreshore. I contemplated other, much more dramatic, photos as the sun neared rising and finally did rise over the top of the island. I was swayed by S' pleasure in the peaceful solitude and calm this photo exudes. That is what Snells Beach is all about for me. A tension evaporator.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.