Run Silent, Run Deep

Wow, I think this is the longest time I have ever spent on a portrait. It took me about four hours before I was satisfied with this one. First of all the shape of Sulu's head was wrong on the left hand side so I had to erase and reshape that. Then I realised his ear was way too high up; more erasing and repainting. Then I spent ages fixing his left jaw and cheekbone but something still didn't look right. I had to leave it to go shopping and when I came home - boom - I realised the big mistake; his left eye was way too high up so out came the eraser and more reconstructive surgery. I tell you, Michael Jackson has nothing on George Takei!

Anyway, there is a sort of mystical reason why I really wanted to draw Mr. Sulu's portrait today. All will become clear either tomorrow or Tuesday. I hope my little magic trick will work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.