Skyward

This is my photo for today. It represents my day, and so for me, it is an appropriate image for today's journal. However, I took it two days ago and therefore, it breaks blipfoto 'rules'. I have seen some folk argue that this is not in the spirit of blipfoto, which explicitly state that photos should be matched to the day taken. I don't know blipfoto have time to enforce that, these days. And why should they? Is this site an historical archive, or a creative space? How identifiable is one day to the next, particularly if 'nothing's happening' in your neck of the woods.

I don't see how the clouds of today, with weather the same as two days ago, is not a fair inclusion in my journal. Similarly, if my mind is spent pondering a memory from 20 years ago, is it not reasonable to include a photograph that I have taken that represents that day of remembering. It could be something symbolic taken today or something I took 20 years ago that encapsulates this day (an image of a friend, whose funeral was today, for example). To please regulations, anyone can just run an image through software that strips the metadata and none would be the wiser. Is that in the spirit of blipfoto? Do I have to upload rubbish to meet a regulation? Is that in the spirit of blipfoto? Open to debate... Just presenting another perspective.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.