tepeka

By tepeka

Best foot forward

In a moment of madness around New Year (it was about 2am and there may have been some wine taken), I announced my intention to take part in the Belfast City Half Marathon in September. This is very unlike me.

Some wise friends have a rule that nothing said after 10pm counts the next morning, but apparently that rule doesn't exist in our house as I'm firmly being made follow through on my rash pledge. 

So today was the first day of 'training', hence the mucky trainers. It actually went rather well, in that I didn't injure myself and I made it back to the house under my own steam rather than on a stretcher. It wasn't so much a run as slow shuffle, though I did manage to overtake four people (they were walking and about 30 years older than me, but they still count). It's important not to peak too soon, I feel. Still, it was a start.

(If I never mention this again, it's because I've realised what a really stupid idea it is.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.