Leeds Central Library

At lunchtime today I went on a Heritage Tour of the Central Library in Leeds. It's something I've been meaning to do for sometime, but today was the day. I knew it was interesting. The building was finished in 1884, and was designed by George Corson, as the Municipal Offices and Library. The central lobby and stairwells are amazing. What I hadn't expected was this, the Genealogy Library. I'd no idea we had anything so amazing. Each end has a massive arched mirror, which gives the impression that the room goes on further. 

I took so many photographs, and plenty that would have made good blips. This, though, is my favourite. It reminds me of those pictures I see from libraries in different countries, and think, "we should have one like that". Then I find out we actually do...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.