Pisky29

By Pisky29

PickaPintaPoncha

Unlike me, you probably knew about local Madeiran brew, 'poncha'.

This heady traditional alcoholic drink is made with Aguardente de cana (distilled alcohol made from sugar cane juice), honey, sugar, lemon rind and with different fruit juices according to the version of Poncha, but traditionally lemon juice is used.

When I asked for a glass with my lunchtime grilled scabbard fish, the waiter looked aghast, and asked whether I'd prefer a glass of Portuguese white, or mineral water. I insisted, and he gave me an odd look, asked whether my family were Camara De Lobos
fishermen, then wandered off enigmatically.

(After a bit of research I now know this may be a backhanded compliment.....seems the hard poncha drinking attributes of that village's men are legendary!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.