yvonnekgray

By Dollykgray

Sunset and Selchrolle-Vegetable Soup

It was a quiet Sunday for us. We usually go out for lunch but I cooked a roast chicken, Australian style, as Hubby is recovering from a severe bout of bronchitis. Hubby was pleased as we watched the ski championships because Austria gained 1st and 3rd in the men´s Giant slalom
I went for a quick march to the next village when I saw there was a bit of colour in the sky and that it had stopped drizzling. I hope this display means it will be a nice day tomorrow.
Tonight we supped on vegetable soup made from stock from a Selchrolle which we ate last night. A Selchrolle is a rolled smoked ham and is cooked in the pressure cooker then served traditionally with bread dumplings and lentils. (I served it with some green vegetables and mustard seed mash which I thought would be a bit lighter for the invalid.) It makes a wonderful stock and is low fat so I usually chop up some vegies and cook them along with the meat. Any left over ham can be diced up and thrown into the soup as well. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.