Who am I to disagree?

By longshanks

Tearjerker

Being a grumpy old bugger there's actually not that many folk I've got on with in hospital, but this bloke was the exception to the rule. He had a book with him The Call Up by Tom Hickman in which he is actually mentioned. It was his only copy and he offered to leave it for me to read and keep, of course I refused - far too valuable a gift. Today he was being taken to Papworth for a heart procedure then returned to a bed in the cardiology ward (D9 is oncology), so it was farewell. I was being washed behind closed curtains when I heard the ambulance crew arrive, and once they finally opened, he was just heading out the door. A final wave and he pointed out on his table the book The Call Up - too late to argue - a definite tearjerker.

Another tearjerker delivered to me today by Professor Tim Eisen was the prognosis of six to twelve months - and that he didn't see the point of seeing me again, a view I strongly argued against, it certainly didn't strike me as time to give up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.