The Wren

By TheWren

Q ........ is for Quilt

Q for the alphaponty alphabet challenge.

This is one of my quilts which has been hand pieced and hand quilted but I found it incredibly difficult to take a good photo of it because of its size. However, I thought it best to give you a view of the whole quilt rather than just part of it. I designed it myself based on a block called The Dresden Plate. All the coloured fabric is recycled cotton and I have used sections of the same fabrics to outline the centre panel and to form a binding. Its fun as there are many reminders of my past in there and also bits and pieces from other members of the family in the true tradition of a scrap quilt! I have used a celtic pattern for the quilting around the border and in the main triangles. If you want to look more closely at the quilting patterns then you may be able to see these better if you go large.

This morning I woke to a very misty outlook probably caused by the Haar (sea fog) moving in from the east coast, which often happens when a prolonged hot spell follows weeks of rain. It served to give my plants a very welcome douche of water before the sun eventually burned through and blue skies returned. It was another session of invigilation following which I decided to take the two hot dogs down to the river for a swim. Needless to say the place was very busy with folk who only come out on hot, sunny days! This included some youngsters, probably having just finished exams, who had thoughtlessly thrown a couple of bottles into the river. This made me very angry but I kept that to myself and quietly asked them to remove them to dispose of safely in a bin, explaining that these bottles could break and children or dogs paddling in the water could get badly cut. There was no problem and one lad duly fished the bottles out. I honestly don't think they had given the consequences a single thought!!!

Apart from that, the riverside was looking glorious and my head was full of the heady aroma from all the blossom and abundance of wild flowers. Both dogs were in their element, swimming and guddling for stones.

Friday. Enjoy your weekend and I hope the weather stays fair.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.