days I'll remember

By bassrockbob

C2C Day 4 - Parkhead to Tynemouth

The final 35 miles, nearly all of them downhill, on a gloriously warm and sunny day. The first ten miles were on the Waskerley Way, a disused railway line that was originally built by the Stockton and Darlington Railway. This took us across moorland and down to Consett. From there we passed through what was until fairly recently coalmining country, although there is now little evidence of that activity.

Somewhere along the Derwent Walk we met up with briaan, who guided us to the Tyne and along as far as the new Skedaddle Hub cafe / bike shop, where we had lunch and Brian used his extreme wide-angle to blip me; my fears about wide-angle portraiture were well founded....

The blip shows our delirious party celebrating the end of the trip at Tynemouth. Cheryl looks so happy, but this was before she lost her keys. The keys for her car which was supposed to get her home from Newcastle to Kent. Oops.

35 easy miles!

This was a fantastic trip. Four days, 140 miles, a much tougher challenge than I had anticipated, and I cycled the entire route. I am dead chuffed :o)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.