fototherapy

By GirlKojak

Darling Buds

Rough winds do shake the darling buds of May,
And summer's lease hath all too short a date;
Sometime too hot the eye of heaven shines,
And often is his gold complexion dimm'd
(From Sonnet 18, William Shakespeare)


Well it has been another gloriously sunny and hot afternoon! There haven't been any 'rough winds' today (tho' we've had plenty this month), but there was enough of a breeze to necessitate several attempts at this shot. I think I've photographed May blossom pretty much every day for the last couple of weeks but there has always been something better to blip. This one is probably the best of the bunch, and despite having other gorgeous pictures I've gone with this in case the blossom doesn't last much longer. Also it is my Dad's favourite flower. I love the lighting here, but it was purely luck ...I just pointed and pressed and have done no editing whatsoever.

I'm determined to make the most of the sun while it is here - clearly British summers have always been the same if Shakespeare bemoans the frequent absence of sunshine. So I had a gentle stroll around Malton picnic area with my camera, and many interesting chats with folk also out enjoying our surprise heatwave. Such a pleasant afternoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.